Himalayan Consensus Summit 2017

Himalayan Ideas – Global Prosperity

March 24 & 25, 2017

Himalayan Consensus Summit 2017 was a platform for global thought leaders ranging from innovators to people having access to capital to explore new opportunities to scale up sustainable, environment-friendly and social businesses.

It focused on development of alternative paradigms that suit the Himalayan context with discussions on issues such as, the need for insurance, access to finance for sustainable development, water conservation and mainstreaming renewable energy.

Proceedings Report Program Booklet
Himalayan Consensus Summit 2017

Program Outline

March 24 & 25, 2017 • Lalitpur

March 24March 25

8.30 am  |   Registration
9.20  am |   Everybody is Seated

9.30 – 11.00 am | Inaugural Session

Speakers: Ambassador Dr Jorg Giovanni Frieden, Ambassador Yu Hong, Ambica Shrestha, Dasho Ugyen Tshewang, Franz Josef Hahn, Laurence Brahm, Mahendra Lama

11.00 – 11.30 am  |   Tea

11.30 am - 1.00 pm | Renewable Energy: Mainstreaming the Alternatives

Speakers: Bhushan Tuladhar, Bibek Chapagain, Guneshwor Mahato, Vincent Wierda
Moderator: Arnico Panday

1.00 – 2.00 pm  |   Lunch

2.00 - 3.30 pm | Reimagining Water: From Home to Trans-boundary

Speakers: Ajaya Dixit, Mats Eriksson, Suman Shakya
Moderator: Celine Cousteau

3.30 – 4.00 pm  |   Tea

4.00 - 5.30 pm | Money Matters: Scaling the Solutions

Speakers: Allen Cheng, Bidhyabaridhi Sigdel, Christopher Flensborg, Eckart Roth
Moderator: Sujeev Shakya

6.00 pm  |   Dinner

8. 30 – 9.30 am  |   Networking/Media Meets

9.30 - 11.00 am | Empowering Communities through Conservation

Speakers: Cas de Stoppelaar, Hon Wai Wai, Shruti Poddar, Thomas Schrom, Tshering Tashi
Moderator: Gregory Tanaka

11.00 – 11.30 am   |   Tea

11.30 am - 1.00 pm | Community Empowerment through Social Innovation

Speakers: Michael Kobold, Narayan Dhakal, Pushkar Shrestha, Ryan Nadeau, Viktor Andersson
Moderator: Tze-wei Ng

1.00 – 2.00 pm   |   Lunch

2.00 - 3.30 pm | Mitigating Future Conflicts and Moving Towards Shared Commitments

Speakers: Christian Manhart, Daniel Taylor, Kamran Lashari, Sun Yuxi
Moderator: Laurence Brahm

3.30 – 4.00 pm   |   Tea

4.00 - 5.30 pm | Closing Session

Speakers: Ambassador Kjell Tormod Pettersen, Celine Cousteau, Christopher Flensborg, Daniel Taylor, David Molden, Eckart Roth, Hon Wai Wai, Laurence Brahm, Mahendra Shrestha, Renaud Meyer, Ryan Nadeau, Sujeev Shakya, Sun Yuxi

Our Speakers

Ajaya Dixit

Allen T. Cheng

Ambica Shrestha

Arnico Panday

Bhushan Tuladhar

Bibek Chapagain

Bidhyabaridhi Sigdel

Cas De Stoppelaar

Celine Cousteau

Christian Manhart

Christopher Flensborg

Daniel C Taylor

Dasho Ugyen Tshewang

David Molden

Eckart Roth

Franz Josef Hahn

Gregory k. Tanaka

Guneshwar Prasad Mahato

Hon Wai Wai

Jörg Giovanni Frieden

Kamran Lashari

Kjell Tormod Pettersen

Kurt Luger

Laurence J. Brahm

Mahendra K. Shrestha

Mahendra Lama

Mats Eriksson

Michael Kobold

Narayan Dhakal

Pushkar Shrestha

Renaud Meyer

Ryan Nadeau

Shruti Nada Poddar

Sujeev Shakya

Suman Shakya

Sun Yuxi

Thomas Schrom

Tshering Tashi

Tze Wei Ng

Viktor Andersson

Vincent Wierda

Yu Hong

Our Sponsors & Partners

Altai Himalaya
Swiss Embassy
Himalayan General Insurance
Peak Re
The Asia Foundation

Four Season
Himlayan rush
Hotel Himalayan
Royal Norwegian Embassy
THT Logo